Magnus Hällström, guitar

Joe Matera, guitar

Roger Eriksson, drums

Peter Ljungberg,

bass & vocals





Swedish hard rockers Rough Rockers announce the release of their brand new EP, ‘Smoke And Mirrors’ via Dutch label RVPrecords on April 29.

Originally conceived as a songwriter/recording project in 2012 by vocalist/bassist Peter Ljungberg and guitarist Magnus Hällström, the group finally secured a permanent line-up with the recruitment of Australian guitarist Joe Matera and Swedish drummer Roger Eriksson in 2018. The band signed to Dutch record label RVPrecords in late 2018.

Matera – a solo recording artist in his own right – was invited to join the band after both he and the band undertook support slots for NWOBHM band Weapon UK in Sweden in 2017.

“I’m looking forward to rocking out with the band” says Matera, “and bringing our unique brand of guitar driven rock to audiences across Europe”.

Adds Ljungberg, “I`m so pleased with the way we have put the songs together. We’ve captured the energy of the band in the essence of the songs, and have created a powerful sound of solid catchy rock `n` roll”.

The new EP features a special appearance by legendary singer Graham Bonnet (Rainbow, Alcatrazz, Michael Schenker Group) who guests on lead vocals on the track, ‘Unleash The Beast’,

Twan Bakker, CEO of RVPrecords said, “I got to know the Swedish Rough Rockers through Joe. Their sound, combined with the personal connection to the ever hard working Matera and respected professional Ljungberg convinced me to sign these guys.”

The EP - was mixed by Tomas Skogsberg (Backyard Babies, Entombed) -showcases the band’s diverse songwriting craft and tough twin guitar sound, with a knack for both sparking tasteful rock tunes and elegant ballads, all underscored by a catchy melodicism.

‘Smoke And Mirrors’ will be released both on CD and as a special limited 12” RED vinyl. The band will tour in support of the new release in May.


Sweden based rock group Rough Rockers started out in 2012 as a songwriter/recording project by vocalist/bassist Peter Ljungberg and guitarist Magnus Hällström.


The band released several EPs in the ensuing years: "Pimped & Poisoned", "Overdrive X" and "A Safe Pair Of hands"  which featured legendary singer Graham Bonnet (Rainbow, Alcatrazz, Michael Schenker Group) guesting on lead vocals on one song.

The band also did a number of shows including support for Weapon U.K in Sweden.


Early 2018 saw the band secure a permanent line-up with the recruitment of Australian guitarist Joe Matera and Swedish drummer Roger Eriksson.

Matera and Ljungberg previously worked together on Matera's 2017 solo single 'Heart Of Stone' which the pair co-wrote.

The new Rough Rockers line-up are currently at work writing and recording a new studio album with Tomas Skogsberg (Hellacopters, Entombed, Backyard Babies) which will be released in early 2019. The plan is to follow up by a European tour in support of the new album. In the meantime, a new single titled, '"The Rough Rocker'" the first recording to feature the new line-up will be released soon.




13 June 2018


We are pleased to announce the release of our new single to be out in July on CD Baby and all major digital music sites.


The tracks are "The Rough Rocker (Electric version) & "The Rough Rocker Rap (Ljungberg/Matera acoustic mix).


The tracks sum up the essence of what the band Rough Rockers is all about. Energy, playfulness and catchy rock tunes.


© .  Proudly presented by ROUGH ROCKERS

  • Facebook Social Ikon
  • YouTube Social Ikon